Saracens crowned Aviva Premiership Champions

By | May 30, 2015


LONDON – Saracens have registered a comprehensive performance to beat Bath 28-16 in the Aviva Premiership Final, being the first team to be crowned Premiership Champions without finishing the regular season in the top two.

The London-based province was by far the stronger starters as their experience of making the finals four times in six years shone through against Bath who made the final at Twickenham for the first time in 11 years.

Last year’s losing finalists exploded out of the blocks at a packed Twickenham with three unanswered tries through Owen Farrell, Jamie George and Chris Wyles as well as 10 points through out-half Farrell seeing them lead 25-3 at the half time whistle.

With Saracens copping a lot of criticism throughout the week for their defensive-minded game style, they were easily the better of the two teams in the first half, registering a typically solid performance with a well-polished set piece. They also capitalised on a number of Bath’s mistakes with Jamie George capping off a great week after replacing Dylan Hartley in the English training squad by scooping up the ball from a Bath mistake and jaunting 40 metres to dive over.

It’s fair to say that Bath resembled a deer stuck in the spotlights as they predictably struggled with the occasion. Despite the result, Bath coach Mike Ford will be proud of how his team reacted in the second half after a try through English centre Jonathan Joseph and penalties through George Ford. They’ll be left lamenting a slow start where Bath were outplayed and outthought and they’ll have to wait at least another season before ending their 19-year wait to lift the premiership trophy.